• Clute & Velasco Pawn Shop
  • -----

FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

Are pawnshops regulated?

Yes, at the local, state and federal level. The state of Texas licenses pawnshops through the Office of Consumer Credit.  We are audited regularly to ensure compliance.  In addition, we are subject to many federal laws related to financial institutions, including the Patriot Act, Truth in Lending Act, Equal Credit Opportunity Act, Bank Secrecy Act, Federal Trade Commission Rules, and Privacy provisions of the Gramm-Leach Bliley Act.  In addition, we are Federal Firearms License holders from the Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Bureau.

Is merchandise in a pawnshop Stolen?

No.  We work closely with local authorities to prevent and identify stolen merchandise.  Customers are required to show identification when pawning or selling an item.  All transactions are transmitted to law enforcement resulting in less than .02 percent identified as stolen.  It is not to our benefit to take anything that is presumed stolen.

How old do I have to be to buy a gun?

We follow all state and federal laws.  You must be 18 years old to purchase a long-gun and 21 years old to purchase a handgun.  In addition you must pass a federal background check or hold a current and valid Texas License to Carry (LTC).

What methods of payment do you accept?

Cash or debit only for Loan redemption or interest payments.  Cash, Credit, Debit, Checks for all other transactions.

Pawn Loan Quote Form

*Replies will be during business hours

Family Business | Friendly Staff | Competitive Prices